Key Points of Kansas Landlord Tenant Law
The landlord tenant law in Kansas governs the rental relationship. These are the key points that both parties will want to know before finalizing the terms of their unique agreement.
1. Security Deposit Rules
Landlords may charge one month's rent as a security deposit. Another half-month's rent may be added to furnished units. Pet deposits are also permitted if the property allows pets. Tenants must receive their deposit within 30 days of moving out or 14 days after a landlord determines the full withholding, whichever is sooner. Tenants must make a demand for their deposit or landlords will mail it to their last known address.
2. No Ability to Withhold and Repair
Landlords who do not provide a habitable environment may have their tenants terminate their lease. There is no statute for withholding rent to repair a habitability issue. Tenants must notify their landlord in writing and allow for 14 days for the repair to be made. This notice can be a 30 day notice to terminate.
3. Nonpayment of Rent Has Specific Rules
If a tenant has resided at a rental unit for less than 90 days, then landlords are required to sent a 3 day written notice to pay or quit. Tenants with more than 90 days of living at a property are required to be given a 10 day notice to pay or quit. Other lease violations require a 30 day notice, but the tenant has 14 days to rectify the situation. A second lease violation other than nonpayment of rent allows for a 30 day termination notice instead.
4. Landlords Must Provide Reasonable Notice For Entry
Kansas law only requires that landlords provide tenants with a “reasonable” amount of notice for property entry. That entry must occur at a reasonable time as well. Both landlords and tenants are governed by a “quiet enjoyment” clause which requires tenants to respect the space of their neighbors and requires landlords to not abuse their right of entry. The key points of Kansas landlord tenant law help to answer the most common questions that get asked. If your specific question is not answered here, then be sure to check local statutes that govern this business relationship.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
If you’re a landlord and want to manage your business in a better way, you should endeavor to get in touch with those industry experts who have the experience and the skills to help you do it. This is... More
When entering into an agreement with a potential tenant, a landlord needs to fully understand the contract that binds them into the specific relationship of being a landlord and a tenant. Now that the... More