Key Points of the Colorado Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
Leases can take on a number of different structures in Colorado. Some rental relationships can even be “rent to own,” which means a portion of the rent being paid can be used as a future down payment to purchase the property. No matter what the structure might be, here are the key points of the Colorado Residential Landlord and Tenant Act you'll want to know.
1. Security Deposits Must Be Returned Within 60 Days.
A lease can dictate a shorter amount of time. If there is no return time listed in the lease, then Colorado defaults to a 1 month return period. Should hazardous conditions force a tenant to move out, their deposit must be returned within 72 business hours.
2. There Are No Limits On Deposits, Entries, Or Additional Fees.
Landlords do not necessarily need to notify a tenant about inspections or sales showings they intend to make. There are also no limits on the amount of a security deposit, pet deposit, or other fees that may be required to begin the rental relationship.
3. The Right To “Benefit And Bargain.”
This applies to tenants that have broken or abandoned a lease without cause. This right entitles a landlord to only recover damages that would be equal to a tenant that did not break their lease.
4. Just 3 Days Are Required For Lease Violation Notices.
This includes any eviction notice for any lease violation. Tenants have 3 days to remedy the situation or quit the lease. Any repetition of the same lease violation over the period of the rental agreement may be grounds for an immediate lease termination.
5. Some Self-Help Evictions May Be Allowed.
Colorado allows for limited self-help evictions when an illegal drug lab is discovered on a rental property. It can also be included with a lease, but a tenant must specifically agree to this process for it to be considered legal. Utilities, however, cannot be shut off during this process.
These key points are intended to serve as a guide for common questions only. If your question is not answered here, then be sure to research the CRS codes that govern your issue or seek professional legal guidance to have your problem resolved.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
If you’re a landlord and want to manage your business in a better way, you should endeavor to get in touch with those industry experts who have the experience and the skills to help you do it. This is... More
When entering into an agreement with a potential tenant, a landlord needs to fully understand the contract that binds them into the specific relationship of being a landlord and a tenant. Now that the... More