Maryland Landlord Tenant Law: What You Need To Know
Maryland landlord tenant laws cover a variety of issues, from lead paint hazards to evictions to the initial application process.
Here are some of the key points of this law that you're going to want to know.
1. Landlords Can Keep Application Fees Of $25 Or Less.
If you submit an application for a rental property, but then find a different place you like better afterward, a fee of $25 or less on the first application can be kept by that landlord.
For fees above $25, landlords are required to refund any amount not spent on the processing of the application within 15 days of moving in or refusing the rental.
2. Verbal Leases Are Allowed When The Term Is Less Than 1 Year.
Although written leases are highly recommended, verbal leases are still considered binding in Maryland when the term of the lease is for less than 12 months.
It is a good idea to have witnesses present for both parties to have a verbal lease be enforced.
3. Renters Have Certain Rights Under The Law.
Renters cannot authorize a confessed judgment through a lease. Late penalties for overdue rent cannot exceed 5% of the amount that is owed.
If rent is paid weekly, then the highest fee allowed is $3 per week.
Landlords cannot take property without a court judgment and must provide a 30 day notice for lease termination.
4. An Advance Copy Of a Lease Is Permitted.
Prospective tenants in Maryland have the right to request a written copy of a lease before deciding to rent.
It must include all the terms which will be agreed upon.
5. Tenants Must Be Given a Receipt For Their Security Deposit.
Landlords who fail to provide their tenant with a receipt after a security deposit is paid must pay a $25 penalty.
Any security deposit above $50 also requires interest to be paid on it by the landlord every 6 months based on published rates from the state.
Security deposits must also be returned within 45 days of moving out.
These key points are intended to answer common questions about Maryland's landlord tenant law.
For other answers to your specific situation, be sure to consult with the specific state statutes which govern your situation.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
If you’re a landlord and want to manage your business in a better way, you should endeavor to get in touch with those industry experts who have the experience and the skills to help you do it. This is... More
When entering into an agreement with a potential tenant, a landlord needs to fully understand the contract that binds them into the specific relationship of being a landlord and a tenant. Now that the... More