There are a number of laws in the Maine Residential Landlord and Tenant Act which are intended to help settle disputes or clarify positions in this business relationship. Here is a summary of these laws based on the most common questions that are asked by tenants and landlords.
1. Surety bonds can be requested in lieu of a security deposit.
The two items are very different from each other, but unlike a security deposit, a landlord cannot require a surety bond. Security deposits are limited to 2x the amount that is charged in rent for use of the rental unit.
2. Tenants must be given a 7 day notice to quit.
Tenants can be evicted for the material breach of a rental agreement. This is defined as a lack of performing their major duties, such as paying the rent, under the lease terms. A 7 day notice to quit is required under Maine law and tenants must be notified of their right to contest the eviction in court.
3. If a tenant does not have a written lease, their tenancy terminates with the sale of a property.
The new owner of a property is only obligated to allow a tenant to stay for as long as they have prepaid their rent. There is no obligation to accept any additional rent. Tenants with a long-term lease of 2+ years have the right to record their lease with the Registry of Deeds, though this should occur before the property is sold.
4. Landlords can only reject TV installations for a good cause.
This includes the installation of a satellite dish. Good cause to reject an installation includes broken agreements with a tenant's preferred company, damage to the rental unit, or a valid complaint similar to these.
5. Late fees can be charged if rent is 15+ days overdue.
The maximum amount that can be charged as a late fee is 4% of one month's rent. This means a rental unit at $1,000/month has a maximum late fee of $40. Late fees must be part of the initial lease and in writing to be valid.
This summary of the Maine Residential Landlord and Tenant Act is not intended to serve as legal advice. For specific answers to your questions, seek legal assistance from a knowledgeable attorney and review the applicable state laws.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
When entering into an agreement with a potential tenant, a landlord needs to fully understand the contract that binds them into the specific relationship of being a landlord and a tenant. Now that the... More
If you’re currently considering the option of offering one of your properties for rental purposes, you should first educate yourself about the landlord tenant relationship. For the first timers, it’s... More
Landlords have many things to think of; they have to deal with legal issues, privacy issues, and so much more. Above all, they sometimes need to deal with a problem tenant. The interesting thing is... More
Most landlords may have some idea what an Estoppel Certificate is. However, many aspiring landlords are still unaware of what this certificate is all about. Basically, a tenant Estoppel Certificate is... More
Landlords have a lot of administrative work to do when they have tenants. It seems easy to let people come and live in your home, have them pay the monthly rent and carry out your daily activities.... More
There are a whole bunch of myths about lease agreements that most people believe that are simply not true: You can't rent a property without lease agreement – Actually there are laws in every state... More