Understanding the Mississippi Residential Landlord and Tenant Act
Under the Mississippi Residential Landlord and Tenant Act, landlords are only required to give tenants a 3 day notice if they fail to pay their rent on time. If the tenant doesn't meet the deadline of this notice, then eviction proceedings can begin.
A tenant is permitted to bring their rent current up until the time the court enters a judgment against them.
Landlords are not allowed to refuse payment in full prior to a court order. Here are some of the other key points to know about under this law.
1. Landlords Have No Right Of Entry To An Apartment.
Unless the right is reserved in a lease, a landlord has no right to enter an apartment on their own.
Tenants may invite landlords in to make necessary repairs, show the unit for sale, or for other matters.
2. Some Landlords Are Permitted To Use Self-Help Eviction Procedures.
Self-help evictions are permitted when a signed lease allows for it and there isn't a breach of the peace caused by the eviction. Proper notices must still be given to the tenant.
Self-help evictions cannot lock tenants out of a property unless all of their possessions have been removed from behind the lock first.
3. There Is a 45 Day Allowance For The Return Of a Security Deposit.
Tenants may also make a demand for their security deposit.
Landlords have 45 days after the demand or after the end of a tenancy to return a security deposit in full or a partial deposit with itemized claims.
4. Holding Over Is Allowed If Rent In Full Is Accepted.
Landlords do not need to accept any rent payments from a tenant who has an expired lease.
If they do accept rent in full, however, the tenant becomes a month-to-month tenant instead and a 30 day notice is required to terminate that type of agreement in Mississippi.
5. Tenants Can Be Evicted For Breaching a Lease.
A 30 day notice is required for an eviction due to a breach of the lease.
A breach of the residential landlord and tenant act also qualifies as grounds for this type of eviction. Tenants must be allowed to remedy the breach if possible.
Each situation is unique, so understanding the Mississippi Residential Landlord and Tenant Act is important for both parties.
Always seek professional legal advice if you are unsure of how to proceed in a specific situation you may face.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
If you’re a landlord and want to manage your business in a better way, you should endeavor to get in touch with those industry experts who have the experience and the skills to help you do it. This is... More