Virginia Landlord Tenant Law: Important Points You Need To Know
Landlords and tenants in Virginia have certain rights and certain remedies that protect their best interests.
Here are the important points you'll want to know about this state's landlord-tenant laws.
1. There Are Application Fee Limits.
Landlords or their agents are allowed to charge a maximum application fee of $50.
This is exclusive of other expenses, such as a credit or background check, which may be performed.
2. Up To 2 Months' Rent Can Be Charged As a Security Deposit.
Landlords are required to pay interest on any security deposit that is held for 13 months or more.
Once a tenant vacates a rental unit, the landlord has 45 days to return the security deposit or provide its remainder, any interest due, and an itemized list of authorized deductions to restore the unit from damage that went beyond normal wear and tear.
3. Not All Rental Units Are Covered By This Law.
The Virginia landlord-tenant laws apply to rentals in multi-unit apartment structures.
Single family homes and other rentals may not be covered by all of the provisions or protections that the law provides other renters.
4. Tenants Have a Right To Privacy.
Landlords must provide tenants with a 24 hour notice to enter a premises for inspection, repair, or to show for sale.
The only exceptions to this rule involve emergency repairs or if there is a tenant absence of 7 days or more to ensure the safety of the unit.
Pesticide use requires a 48 hour notice.
5. Certain People Are Granted Special Rights.
Landlords must comply with Virginia laws if their tenant is the victim of domestic violence or certain criminal assaults.
6. An Eviction Can Be Started In Just 5 Days.
If a tenant fails to pay their rent on time, then a landlord may issue a 5 day notice to quit or pay.
If the deadline passes without payment, then the tenant may lose possession of the rental property through court order.
These important points to know cover only a small section of the Virginia residential landlord tenant laws.
Be sure to seek legal counsel or review the specific state statutes in place for your specific situation before finalizing any decision.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
Becoming a landlord is a major deal and no one can simply get up and think, “well, yes I think I should be a landlord and rent out my flat.” If you are thinking that you would like to be a landlord,... More
If you’re a landlord and want to manage your business in a better way, you should endeavor to get in touch with those industry experts who have the experience and the skills to help you do it. This is... More