What Is the Eviction Process in Delaware?
In Delaware, the eviction process is formally known as taking summary possession. Landlords have an advantage in this state as the process proceeds much more quickly than in most other states in the US. It all begins with the initial eviction notice which can be served for the following reasons.
1. Nonpayment of rent.
2. A violation of the leasing agreement.
3. If there is a holdover from a previous lease and no extension in place.
Serving the notice can be done through certified mail, personal service, or posting the notice on the unit door and mailing a second copy to the tenant.
It Is a 5 Day/7 Day Notice for Nonpayment
Most landlords will be able to give a 5 day notice for nonpayment of rent and must include the rental property information and all included adults on the lease. It must be 7 days if the rental property is a manufactured home. A 7 day notice is also required for a lease violation that doesn't involve rental payments. Tenants must receive a specific reason why they are in violation and what they must do to correct the situation. If the situation remains uncorrected after the 7 days, then further proceedings may apply. For those in manufactured homes, this must be a 10 day notice. The counting of days on these notices are actually business days in Delaware, so no weekend days or holidays are counted.
Criminal Violations Require No Notice
For tenants that have committed at least a Class B misdemeanor or any felony offense on the rental property in question, then landlords are allowed to post an immediate eviction notice. This includes drug use and domestic violence, as well as intentional property damage. A 60 day notice is required for an eviction when a tenant enters into a holding over period and every day is counted instead of only business days. Evictions that are won by the landlord will allow for a Writ of Possession to be requested. This gives the tenant 10 days to leave the property. If not, the Sheriff will serve a 24 hour notice to vacate and then enforce it forcibly if necessary. Tenant belongings that remain must be stored 7 days at the tenant's expense. The Delaware eviction process is simple and straightforward. As long as each step is followed properly, then landlords can quickly remove problematic or non-paying tenants.
When it comes to having a tenant for the first time, it can be pretty daunting because you are going to be the corresponding landlord and a new relationship will emerge, which will need time to grow... More
Many times, there are issues between a landlord and a tenant that need to be resolved but are failed to do so, because both parties have gone too far with their actions, and have retaliated in the... More
The landlord and tenant laws in California are literally the same as they are in any other state. These laws, rules and regulations are put into practice because they uphold an order, a discipline,... More
When it comes to a landlord wanting to evict their tenant, there are specific steps that need to be followed before the process of eviction can start. It is not anymore that the landlord can simply... More
People are aware that there are different rulings in each state with reference to the landlord/tenant laws. The state of Illinois also has a set of laws. These rules and regulations are basically... More
Where there is a landlord, there will also be a tenant, and it is no surprise that these two parties can only work together once there is some sort of agreement, contract or a binding deal in place.... More
Many landlords find it difficult to write and draft a lease agreement. Since every State has its own general template, it can also be difficult to make sure your lease agreement meets all the criteria... More
All landlords know that before they can formally become a landlord there are a lot of things they need to understand. Landlords and tenants cannot act as such without any legal bodies involved. That... More
When it comes to evicting a rowdy tenant from your apartment, it can be a little overwhelming, because you know that there is legal recourse and you cannot just boot out your tenant. There is a... More