Colorado Renters Rights

Colorado Renters Rights by LandLordStation.com

LandLordStation.com offers a variety of information pertaining to Colorado renters rights. Colorado landlord tenant law covers a variety of items to protect the rights of both the landlord and the tenant and to specify the duties and obligations of each. Colorado tenant rights can be found on the Colorado Legal Resources website .


The Colorado Revised Statutes (CRS) cover a variety of renters' rights items which include, but are not limited to, the following:

Security Deposits

1. Security deposits must be returned to the tenant within 60 days.

2. Security deposits cannot be used or retained due to normal wear and tear.

3. If a security deposit is retained by the landlord, a written statement stating the exact reasons for the retention of any portion of the deposit must be given to the tenant.

4. The security deposit can be retained by the landlord for non-payment of rent, abandonment of the premises, non-payment of utility charges, repair work or cleaning.

5. If the landlord does not provide a written statement within the required time, all rights to withhold the funds are forfeited.

6. If the security deposit is willfully and wrongfully withheld by the landlord, the landlord must refund the tenant up to 3 times the amount of the deposit, together with reasonable attorneys’ fees and court costs. The tenant must give the landlord a minimum of 7 day notice prior to filing an action.

7. The tenant and the landlord cannot enter into any agreement that waives any part of CRS 38-12-103.

Mobile Home Park Act

1. The purpose of this part of CRS 38-12 is to establish the relationship between the owner of a mobile home park and the owner of a mobile home situated in such park.

Local Control of Rents

1. No county or municipality may enact any ordinance or resolution that would control rent on either private residential property or a private residential housing unit.

2. The tenant and the landlord cannot enter into any agreement that waives any part of CRS 38-12-301.

Victims of Domestic Violence

1. A landlord shall not terminate a lease agreement or impose a penalty on a residential tenant for calls made by the tenant for peace officer assistance or other emergency assistance in response to a domestic violence or domestic abuse situation.

2. A residential tenant or landlord may not waive the rights set out in this statute.

3. When a tenant seeks to vacate the premises due to fear of imminent danger for self or children because of the domestic violence or abuse, then the tenant may terminate the residential rental agreement or lease agreement and vacate the premises without further obligation. To do so under these conditions the must tenant notify a landlord in writing that he or she is the victim of domestic violence or domestic abuse and provide the landlord with evidence of domestic violence or abuse in the form of a police report. The tenant must still perform the acts in the lease which include leaving the property in a clean condition, payment of rent owed, etc.

4. If tenant has to vacate the premises due to domestic violence, the tenant must pay the landlord one month’s rent following the vacation of the premises, which amount shall be due and payable to the landlord within 90 days after the tenant vacates the premises. The landlord is not obligated to return the security deposit to the tenant until this amount has been paid.

Tenant’s Maintenance of Premises

1. Every tenant has the duty to maintain the portion of the premises within the tenant’s control in a reasonably clean and safe manner. This includes keeping the dwelling unit reasonably clean, safe and sanitary manner and disposal of trash. Tenant must promptly notify landlord if the premises are uninhabitable or if conditions exist that would render the premises uninhabitable if conditions were not repaired or remedied.

2. Tenant also shall not knowingly, intentionally, deliberately or negligently destroy, deface, damage, impair or remove any part of the residence or knowingly permit any person within his or her control to do so.

Restrictions on Electric Vehicle Charging Systems

1. A tenant may install, at tenant’s expense, a level 1 or level 2 electric vehicle charging system on or in the leased premises.

2. A landlord shall not assess or charge a tenant any fee for placement or use of an electric vehicle charging system, except in the event that the landlord pays for the electricity for the leased premises. In that event, the landlord may only charge the tenant for the amount of electricity used by the charging system.


The information provided by LandLordStation.com regarding renters rights Colorado law is to give tenants a better understanding of their rights and obligations under the law. LandLordStation.com offers a variety of helpful sources of information pertaining to Colorado renters rights that will benefit both the tenant and the landlord. Find knowledgeable and friendly customer service representatives to answer questions, as well as a community of real estate experts on-line to share their knowledge and experience.

Tenant Screening

Comprehensive credit & criminal screening.
Get access to bankruptcies, employment history, medical records, past addresses, evictions and more.

View Pricing & Get Started


Legal Forms

State-specific legal forms.
Lease agreements, rental applications, lease termination, eviction forms and much more.

Browse Our Legal Forms


Subscription Pricing

Our paid subscription plans now include free tenant screenings ! Greater access to all of our features and the subscription pays for itself!

View Pricing & Get Started

Leave a Message