Skip to content

Easy Guide to South Carolina Landlord Tenant Law

The landlord tenant law in South Carolina was created in order to simplify the relationship between these two parties.

Here is an easy guide to the state’s laws so that the answers to several common questions can be found.

1. Landlords Must Notify Tenants Of All Key Parties.

Tenants must receive name and address information of anyone authorized to act on their behalf.

This includes vendors who are authorized to enter the premises to make repairs.

2. There Are No Limits On Security Deposit Amounts.

South Carolina does require any deposit remainder to be refunded to tenants within 30 days of moving out.

Cities and counties in the state may have specific rules about this statute that change from time to time.

Non-refundable fees cannot be taken out of the security deposit.

3. Tenants Must Receive a 5 Day Notice For Overdue Rent.

If a tenant has not paid their rent on time, then landlords may, at their discretion, give the tenant a 5 day notice to pay or quit.

If payment is still not received or the tenant has not moved out, then the eviction process can be pursued.

4. Landlords Must Maintain Their Premises.

All state, county, and local building codes must be followed at all times.

Landlords must repair systems to make a rental unit be habitable and safe.

Running water and reasonable amounts of hot water must be made available.

The exterior of the property is also required to be maintained by the landlord unless certain tasks, such as mowing, are assigned to tenants in good faith.

5. There Are Limits Of Liability.

Tenants can sue landlords who are in violation of their rental agreement, but most cases are limited to an amount that is equal to the security deposit plus reasonable legal fees.

If the landlord is found to be punitive in their violations of South Carolina landlord tenant law, then an amount equal to 3x the monthly rent may also be authorized as a judgment.

This easy guide to South Carolina landlord tenant law is not a complete overview on the subject.

If you have any specific questions about your issue, then consul the articles and sections provided by the state for a specific answer.

Curated Property Management Tips and Advice Straight To Your Inbox.

Instant Renter’s Insurance​

$100,000
Tenant Liability Coverage
$10,000
Tenant Contents Coverage
  • RELATED POSTS
What Is a Subordinate Lien?

What Is a Subordinate Lien?

A subordinate lien is any secondary lien that is placed on a person’s property. This…
Are Tenants Protected Against Owner Move-In Evictions

Are Tenants Protected Against Owner Move-In Evictions

Depending on where you live, you may terminate a lease if you or a family…
Explanation of Alabama Renters Rights

Explanation of Alabama Renters Rights

In Alabama, the most common reason why tenants will face an eviction is because of…